Richard P. Swanson, NYCLA President-Elect, Presents the Eppler Award to NYCLA Criminal Justice Committee at 2024 Annual Meeting

Richard P. Swanson, NYCLA President-Elect
Presents Eppler Award to Criminal Justice Committee

2024 Annual Meeting
NYCLA Home of Law
111 Broadway
New York, New York

May 23, 2024

It is now my pleasure to announce the annual Eppler Award. The Eppler Award, selected by the President of NYCLA, is awarded to a NYCLA Committee or Section for a report that had or may have the greatest impact in effecting improvements in the law or in our judicial system. The award consists of a $500 prize to enhance the Committee’s work.

This year’s Eppler Award goes to NYCLA’s Criminal Justice Committee, Co-Chaired by Asha Smith and Geoff Bickford, for its collective work. This has included a Legislative Memorandum in collaboration with the Voting Rights Task Force in Support of the Jury of our Peers Act, and a Statement in Support of the Stop the Violence in the Sex Trades Act, in collaboration with NYCLA’s LGBTQ Committee.

We congratulate NYCLA’s Criminal Justice Committee for advancing NYCLA’s mission to promote the administration of justice and reforms in the law in the public interest, applying its knowledge and experience in the field of law to the promotion of the public good, and ensuring access to justice for all. Thank you.