NYCLA Justice Center


Mission Statement

The mission of the Justice Center is to combine the resources, position and membership of the New York County Lawyers’ Association with those of academia, the bench and the bar, and to partner with non-lawyer community leaders and groups to identify and understand legal and social justice issues, promote access to justice, and act as a catalyst for meaningful improvement in, and a positive perception of, the administration of justice in New York State.

NYCLA Justice Center Advisory Board

Co-chaired by Stephen C. Lessard and Seymour James, the Justice Center includes lawyers, judges, academics and community representatives.

Stephen C. Lessard, Co-Chair
Latham & Watkins, LLP


Hon. Richard Berman
U.S. District Court, Southern District


Mary Bleiberg
Institutional Advancement and Development, Queens Library


Collin Bull
Collin D. Bull, Esq


Marian Burnbaum
Educational Administrator, NYC Department of Education


Jai Chandrasekhar
Bernstein Litowitz Berger & Grossmann LLP


Vincent T. Chang
Wollmuth Maher & Deutsch LLP


Dora Galacatos
Feerick Center for Social Justice
Fordham University School of Law


James B. Kobak, Jr.
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP


Debra Lesser
Director, NYC Department of Education


Hon. Joan Madden


Hon. Joseph Kevin McKay



Seymour James, Co-Chair
Barket Epstein Kearon Aldea & Lo Turco, LLP


Michael McNamara
Seward & Kissel, LLP


Sateesh Nori
The Legal Aid Society


Bonnie Nuzum


George Santana


Maureen Ketler Schad
Norton Rose Fulbright LLP US


Elliot Shields
Roth & Roth LLP


Asha Smith


Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong
US Bankruptcy Court, E.D.N.Y.


Lewis Tesser
Tesser, Ryan & Rochman, LLP


David Udell
National Center for Access to Justice


Hon. Robert D. Weisel


Ralph L. Wolf
NYS UCS Office for Justice Initiatives