NYCLA Justice Center

NYCLA JUSTICE CENTER

Mission Statement

The mission of the Justice Center is to combine the resources, position and membership of the New York County Lawyers’ Association with those of academia, the bench and the bar, and to partner with non-lawyer community leaders and groups to identify and understand legal and social justice issues, promote access to justice, and act as a catalyst for meaningful improvement in, and a positive perception of, the administration of justice in New York State.

NYCLA Justice Center Advisory Board

Co-chaired by Stephen C. Lessard and Seymour James, the Justice Center includes lawyers, judges, academics and community representatives.

Stephen C. Lessard, Esq., Co-Chair
Latham & Watkins, LLP
slessard@lw.com

 

Vincent T. Chang, Esq.
Wollmuth Maher & Deutsch LLP
vchang@wmd-law.com

 

 

Dora Galacatos, Esq.
Feerick Center for Social Justice
Fordham University School of Law
galacatos@law.fordham.edu

 

 

James B. Kobak, Jr. Esq
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
kobak@hugheshubbard.com

 

 

Hon. Joseph Kevin McKay
jkevinmck3@gmail.com

 

 

Sateesh Nori, Esq.
The Legal Aid Society
snori@legal-aid.com

 

 

Asha Smith, Esq.
asha.smith@gmail.com

 

 

Lewis F. Tesser, Esq.
Tesser, Ryan, & Rochman, LLP
ltesser@tesserryan.com

 

 

Ralph L. Wolf, Esq.
NYS Office for Justice Initiatives
Division of Policy & Planning
rlwolf@nycourts.gov

 

 

Anthe Maria Bova, Esq.
NYCLA
abova@nycla.org

 

 

Seymour James, Esq., Co-Chair
Barket Epstein Kearon Aldea & Lo Turco, LLP
sjames@barketepstein.com

 

Mary Bleiberg
Senior Vice President, Institutional Advancement and Development
Queens Library
marybleiberg@gmail.com

 

 

Jai K. Chandrasekhar, Esq.
Bernstein Litowitz Berger Grossman, LLP
jai@blbglaw.com

 

 

Hon. Marcy S. Friedman
Supreme Court NY County Acting Justice
(646) 643-9035
marcyfriedman@gmail.com

 

 

Hon. Joan A. Madden
maddenjoan29@gmail.com

 

 

Michael J. McNamara, Esq.
Seward & Kissel LLP
(212) 574-1581
mcnamara@sewkis.com

 

 

Elliot Shields
Roth & Roth LLP
eshields@rothandrothlaw.com

 

 

Hon. Elizabeth S. Strong
EDNY
elizabeth_stong@nyeb.uscourts.gov

 

 

Robert D. Weisel
(516) 330-3715

 

 

Sophia Gianacoplos
NYCLA 
(212) 267-6646 x 220
sgianacoplos@nycla.org