NYCLA Honors Six for Public Service at Annual Meeting

New York County Lawyers’ Association

14 Vesey Street New York, NY 10007


Pamela B. Yaeger (212) 267-6646, ext. 225 (Phone)

Communications Manager (212) 406-9252 (Fax)

NYCLA Honors Six for Public Service at Annual Meeting


NEW YORK, May 14, 2003 -During its Annual Meeting on May 22 at 5:30 pm, New York County Lawyers’ Association (NYCLA) will present Public Service Awards to six attorneys: Louis Crespo Illarazo, Special Referee, New York State Supreme Court, New York County; Gail R. Donoghue, Special Assistant, Corporation Counsel; Emilio Estela, Deputy Bureau Chief, District Attorney’s Office, New York County; Adriene L. Holder, Attorney, Civil Appeals and Law Reform Unit, The Legal Aid Society; Sin Yen Ling, Staff Attorney, Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund; and Kathy S. Marks, Assistant U.S. Attorney, Chief of the Immigration Unit, SDNY.

In keeping with the meeting’s theme, “Public Service Comes in Many Forms,” the Association will also honor the New York Law Journal for its outstanding contributions and service to the profession and community, as well as 35 witnesses from its landmark litigation, NYCLA v. New York, during its Annual Meeting & Reception on May 22.


“As reflected by the diversity of our honorees, public service is performed in many different ways. NYCLA is pleased to recognize these fine people and the New York Law Journal for their exceptional contributions to our profession and our community,” stated Michael Miller, President of NYCLA.

Robert MacCrate, former President of both the American Bar Association and the New York State Bar Association, and recipient of the ABA’s highest honor, the Medal of Honor, will be the keynote speaker.


Michael Miller, a solo practitioner, will be re-elected President of the Association. Other officers to be re-elected are Norman L. Reimer, a partner at Gould, Fishbein, Reimer & Gottfried, as President-Elect; Edwin David Robertson, a partner at Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, as Vice-President; M. Robert Goldstein, a partner at Goldstein, Goldstein & Rikon, as Secretary; and Marjorie E. Gross, Managing Director and Associate General Counsel, JP Morgan Chase, as Treasurer.


The program will recognize Outgoing Directors Elizabeth A. Barnes, Dierdre A. Burgman, Hon. Stephen G. Crane, Clyde Jay Eisman, Hon. Margaret J. Finerty, Andrea G. Hirsch, M. Barry Levy, Poppy Bingham Quattlebaum and Marc J. Whiten.


Incoming Directors are: William E. Bandon III, Scott M. Berman, Catherine A. Christian, Raymond J. Dowd, Thomas F. Hickey, Mariana Hogan, Sue C. Jacobs, Meredith J. Jones, Hon. Charles E. Ramos and Kelli J. Stenstrom.


The members to serve on the Committee on Nominations are: Hon. Harold Baer Jr., Klaus Eppler, Rosalind S. Fink, Stephen D. Hoffman and Glenn Lau-Kee.


A reception in honor of the Officers, Directors, and Awardees will follow the meeting. For more information, contact Christina Andujar at (212) 267-6646 ext. 231.




The New York County Lawyers’ Association was founded 95 years ago as the first major bar association in the country that admitted members without regard to race, ethnicity, religion or gender. Since its inception, NYCLA has pioneered some of the most far-reaching and tangible reforms in American jurisprudence and has continuously played an active role in legal developments and public policy.