Justice Center

Mission Statement
The mission of the Justice Center is to combine the resources, position and membership of the New York County Lawyers’ Association with those of academia, the bench and the bar, and to partner with non-lawyer community leaders and groups to identify and understand legal and social justice issues, promote access to justice, and act as a catalyst for meaningful improvement in, and a positive perception of, the administration of justice in New York State.

Advisory Board
The Advisory Board,  co-chaired by Stephen C. Lessard and Seymour James,  includes lawyers, judges, academics and community representatives.

NYCLA's Justice Center Advisory Board

Stephen C. Lessard, Esq., Co-Chair
Latham & Watkins, LLP
Seymour James, Esq., Co-Chair
Barket Epstein Kearon Aldea & Lo Turco, LLP
Hon. Richard M. Berman
U.S. District Court, Southern District

Anthe Maria Bova, Esq.

Vincent T. Chang, Esq.
Wollmuth Maher & Deutsch LLP

Dora Galacatos, Esq.
Feerick Center for Social Justice
Fordham University School of Law
James B. Kobak, Jr. Esq
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP

Hon. Joseph Kevin McKay

Sateesh Nori, Esq.
The Legal Aid Society

Asha Smith, Esq.
The Legal Aid Society
Lewis F. Tesser, Esq.
Tesser, Ryan, & Rochman, LLP

Ralph L. Wolf, Esq.
NYS Office for Justice Initiatives
Division of Policy & Planning
Mary Bleiberg
Senior Vice President, Institutional Advancement and Development
Queens Library

Jai K. Chandrasekhar, Esq.
Bernstein Litowitz Berger Grossman, LLP

Hon. Marcy S. Friedman
Supreme Court NY County Acting Justice
(646) 643-9035

Sophia Gianacoplos
(212) 267-6646 x 220

Hon. Joan A. Madden

Michael J. McNamara, Esq.
Seward & Kissel LLP
(212) 574-1581

Elliot Shields
Roth & Roth LLP

Hon. Elizabeth S. Strong

Robert D. Weisel
(516) 330-3715