Attorneys
Justice Center



Mission Statement
The mission of the Justice Center is to combine the resources, position and membership of the New York County Lawyers’ Association with those of academia, the bench and the bar, and to partner with non-lawyer community leaders and groups to identify and understand legal and social justice issues, promote access to justice, and act as a catalyst for meaningful improvement in, and a positive perception of, the administration of justice in New York State.

Advisory Board
The Advisory Board, chaired by James B. Kobak, Jr., includes lawyers, judges, academics and community representatives.

NYCLA's Justice Center Advisory Board

James B. Kobak, Jr., Esq., Chair
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
One Battery Park Plaza
New York, NY 10004-1442
(212) 837-6757
james.kobak@hugheshubbard.com
Debra Lesser, Esq.
Justice Resource Center
122 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10023
(212) 580-5905
dlesser@schools.nyc.gov

Hon. Joseph Kevin McKay, Vice Chair
307 Clinton Street
Brooklyn, NY 11231-3701
(718) 522-4719
jkevinmck3@gmail.com

Mary Bleiberg
Senior Vice President, Institutional Advancement and Development
Queens Library
89-11 Merrick Boulevard
Jamaica, NY 11432
(212) 710-9220
marybleiberg@gmail.com

Vincent T. Chang, Esq.
Wollmuth Maher & Deutsch LLP
500 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10110
vchang@wmd-law.com

Maureen K. Schad, Esq.
Chadbourne & Parke LLP
30 Rockefeller Plaza
New York, NY 10112
212-408-5212
maureen.schad@nortonrosefulbright.com

Anthe Maria Bova, Esq.
NYCLA
14 Vesey Street
New York, NY 10007
(212) 267-6646 x 236
avorkas@nycla.org

Sophia Gianacoplos
NYCLA 
14 Vesey Street
New York, NY 10007
(212) 267-6646 x 220
sgianacoplos@nycla.org

Lew Tesser
Tesser, Ryan, & Rochman LLP
ltesser@tesserryan.com

Stephen C. Lessard
Orrick, Herrington, & Sutcliffe, LLP
slessard@orrick.com

Bonnie Nuzum
Educator, Consultant, Author
bonnienuzum@gmail.com
 
Asha Smith
The Legal Aid Society
asha.smith@gmail.com

Seymour James
Barket Epstein Kearon Aldea & Lo Turco, LLP
sjames@barketepstein.com
Michael J. McNamara, Esq.
Seward & Kissel LLP
One Battery Park Plaza
New York, NY 10004-1441
(212) 574-1581
mcnamara@sewkis.com

Hon. Richard M. Berman
U.S. District Court, Southern District
500 Pearl St., Rm 650
New York, NY 10007
(212) 805-6715
richard_berman@nysd.uscourts.gov

George M. Santana, Esq.
Bronx Criminal Court
265 East 161st Street, Room 835
Bronx, NY 10451
646-238-0930
gsantanalaw@gmail.com

Hon. Marcy S. Friedman
Supreme Court NY County Acting Justice
60 Centre Street, R-664
New York, NY 10013
(646) 386-3760
msfriedm@courts.state.ny.us

Dora Galacatos, Esq.
Feerick Center for Social Justice
Fordham University School of Law
150 West 62nd Street, Room 7-161
New York, NY 10023
(212) 636-7747
galacatos@law.fordham.edu

David S. Udell, Esq.
National Center for Access to Justice
Fordham Law School
150 West 62nd Street, Room 7-165
New York, NY 10023
(646) 293-3997
dudell@fordham.edu

Lorraine D. Mandel
XL Financial Solutions, Inc.
lmandel@rcn.com

Elliot Shields
Roth & Roth LLP
eshields@rothandrothlaw.com

Hon. Elizabeth S. Strong
EDNY
elizabth_stong@nyeb.uscourts.gov

Ralph Wolff